Openings on Authorities, Boards & Commissions

The Town Council of Dayton announces the following openings on Authorities, Boards and Commissions


Economic Development Authority (two positions)


The Authority was established by Council in 2017 to assist with promoting economic development in the Town and to provide a conduit for financings under the Industrial Development and Revenue Act adopted by the Virginia General Assembly.


The Authority Board of Directors has seven members, each of which serve four year terms.  One vacant position is for a four year term; the other position is fill an unexpired term that ends on July 10, 2021.  The Board meets at least once per fiscal year, and as needed.


Zoning Appeals Board (one position)


The Board is established by state law to hear and decide appeals from any order, requirement, decision, or determination made by the Zoning Administrator, or of any zoning-related ordinance.


Town Council makes a recommendation to Circuit Court for appointment to this Board.  The Board has five members, each serving five-year terms.  The Board meets as necessary after an appeal is filed.


Planning Commission (one position)


The Town established the planning commission in accordance with state law to review and provide recommendation to Council in matters pertaining to land use in the Town, including ordinance amendments, property rezoning, special use permits, and conditional zoning.


The Commission consists of five members, one of which is a Council member.  Members of the planning commission shall be Town residents and serve four-year terms.  The Commission has regular monthly meetings (currently scheduled for the 3rd Thursday of each month), but meet only when there is business to consider.




Interested persons should submit a letter explaining why they should considered, along with a resume, to Town Superintendent, Town of Dayton, 125B Eastview Street, Dayton, VA 22821, or electronically to .  Letters of interest will be accepted until July 15, 2019.